The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern*NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, comes a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.


PRAISE FOR THE STARLESS SEA
"[A] gorgeously written epic love story, filled with magic and mystery." ⁠—Popsugar

"A page-turner. . . . It's unlikely [The Night Circus fans] will be disappointed by this sweeping follow-up, which unfolds an epic romance within a secret underground world of lost cities, handsome pirates and endless puzzles to be solved." —Entertainment Weekly

"A timeless love story" —The Nerd Daily

"From the author of The Night Circus comes a wildly fanciful lark that has all the hits: mystery, love, libraries, Harry Potter references, and pirates. It's a complex, darkly beautiful story with some of the most inventive storytelling we've read all year.”—Good Housekeeping, Best Book of 2019

"The most joyous reading experience I’ve had in recent memory... It is, not to put too fine a point on it, wonderful... a master-class in plotting and prestidigitation... unabashedly romantic... a warm, honeyed bath of words and ideas."—Robert Wiersema, The Toronto Star

"This love letter to bibliophiles is dreamlike and uncanny, grounded in deeply felt emotion, and absolutely thrilling." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

You Can't Catch Me by Catherine McKenzie

You Can't Catch Me by Catherine McKenzieWin an Advanced Reader Copy of Catherine McKenzie's You Can't Catch Me.

When the game is deception, nothing is as it seems in this novel of cunning psychological suspense by the #1 Amazon Charts bestselling author of I’ll Never Tell.

Do you want to play a game?

Twelve years ago Jessica Williams escaped a cult. Thanks to the private detective who rescued her, she reintegrated into society, endured an uncomfortable notoriety, and tried to put it all behind her. Then, at an airport bar, Jessica meets a woman with an identical name and birth date. It appears to be just an odd coincidence—until a week later, when Jessica finds her bank account drained and her personal information stolen.

Following a trail of the grifter’s victims, each with the same name, Jessica gathers players—one by one—for her own game. According to her plan, they’ll set a trap and wait for the impostor to strike again. But plans can go awry, and trust can fray, and as Jessica tries to escape the shadows of her childhood, the risks are greater than she imagined. Now, confronting the casualties of her past, Jessica can’t help but wonder…

Who will pay the price?

Simon the Fiddler by Paulette Jiles

Simon the Fiddler by Paulette JilesThe critically acclaimed, bestselling author of News of the World and Enemy Women returns to Texas in this atmospheric story, set at the end of the Civil War, about an itinerant fiddle player, a ragtag band of musicians with whom he travels trying to make a living, and the charming young Irish lass who steals his heart.

In March 1865, the long and bitter War between the States is winding down. Till now, twenty-three-year-old Simon Boudlin has evaded military duty thanks to his slight stature, youthful appearance, and utter lack of compunction about bending the truth. But following a barroom brawl in Victoria, Texas, Simon finds himself conscripted, however belatedly, into the Confederate Army. Luckily his talent with a fiddle gets him a comparatively easy position in a regimental band.

Weeks later, on the eve of the Confederate surrender, Simon and his bandmates are called to play for officers and their families from both sides of the conflict. There the quick-thinking, audacious fiddler can’t help but notice the lovely Doris Mary Aherne, an indentured girl from Ireland, who is governess to a Union colonel’s daughter.

After the surrender, Simon and Doris go their separate ways. He will travel around Texas seeking fame and fortune as a musician. She must accompany the colonel’s family to finish her three years of service. But Simon cannot forget the fair Irish maiden, and vows that someday he will find her again.

NO PO BOXES | Allow 4-6 weeks for delivery

The Georgia Davis PI Series by Libby Fischer Hellmann

The Georgia Davis PI Series by Libby Fischer HellmannHave you met Chicago PI Georgia Davis? If not, or you've only read one of her thrillers, you're invited to enter for the chance to win the GEORGIA DAVIS BOXED SET OF FOUR. It's recently been updated to FOUR from THREE. There are FIVE books in the series so far.

PI Georgia Davis burst on the scene in two of the Ellie Foreman mysteries but Hellmann knew that Georgia would have her own series one day. Here are the titles included in the set.

EASY INNOCENCE (2008):
Winner, Best PI Novel, Readers Choice Award
Freshly-minted PI Georgia Davis investigates the murder of a high school girl and finds out how far teen girls will go for approval from their peers.

DOUBLEBACK (2009)
"Great Lakes Great Read" Autumn Pick, 2009 Great Lakes Bookseller Association
PI Georgia Davis and Ellie Foreman team up after the kidnapping of a young girl triggers a series of more deadly events.

TOXICITY (2011)
Ten years before Easy Innocence, three bodies turn up in quick succession—all of them dumped in waste disposal dumpsters or landfills. Officer Georgia Davis, her boyfriend detective, and his partner team up and find much more than they bargained for. "The Georgia Davis series may just be one of the best crime thriller series being written today." Seattle Post-Intelligencer

in NOBODY'S CHILD, Georgia discovers a half-sister who's in big trouble. But rescuing the girl will bring Georgia back to confront an old enemy. "“Thrilling…Hellmann ratchets up tension with every chapter." Publishers Weekly

Paper Wife by Laila Ibrahim

Paper Wife by Laila IbrahimI'm starting the New Year with a giveaway. Enter to win a copy of Paper Wife.

4.5 stars and 850+ ratings

From the bestselling author of Yellow Crocus comes a heart-wrenching story about finding strength in a new world.

Southern China, 1923. Desperate to secure her future, Mei Ling’s parents arrange a marriage to a widower in California. To enter the country, she must pretend to be her husband’s first wife—a paper wife.

On the perilous voyage, Mei Ling takes an orphan girl named Siew under her wing. Dreams of a better life in America give Mei Ling the strength to endure the treacherous journey and detainment on Angel Island. But when she finally reaches San Francisco, she’s met with a surprise. Her husband, Chinn Kai Li, is a houseboy, not the successful merchant he led her to believe.

Mei Ling is penniless, pregnant, and bound to a man she doesn’t know. Her fragile marriage is tested further when she discovers that Siew will likely be forced into prostitution. Desperate to rescue Siew, she must convince her husband that an orphan’s life is worth fighting for. Can Mei Ling find a way to make a real family—even if it’s built on a paper foundation?

What's Left of Me Is Yours by Stephanie Scott

What's Left of Me Is Yours by Stephanie     Scott*ARC GIVEAWAY*
A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime, for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny, What's Left of Me Is Yours charts a young woman's search for the truth about her mother's life--and her murder.


PRAISE FOR WHAT'S LEFT OF ME IS YOURS:
“Remember that new-discovery, time-stopping, every-moment-is-magical kind of love? That's what it felt like to read this novel. Then limerence turns to passion which leads to tragedy and suddenly this book is impossible to put down as you speed toward a conclusion that is as surprising as it is satisfying.”
—Jamie Ford, bestselling author of HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER AND SWEET

"At once luminous and captivating, What's Left of Me is Yours is the best kind of fiction: it tells a truth. All the easy lies about love fall away, as Stephanie Scott explores its often bitter, twisting, aching core. This is a brilliant, haunting book."
—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of THE CHILD FINDER and THE BUTTERFLY GIRL

"Beautifully written, atmospheric, and immersive, Stephanie Scott’s What’s Left of Me Is Yours tells a propulsive story about heartbreak and loss and the greatest mystery of all, family."
—Laurie Frankel, bestselling author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS

"A brilliant debut."
—Louise Doughty, author of PLATFORM SEVEN and APPLE TREE YARD

A Cold Trail by Robert Dugoni

A Cold Trail by Robert DugoniIn New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni’s riveting series, Seattle homicide detective Tracy Crosswhite returns home to a brutal murder and her haunted past.

The last time homicide detective Tracy Crosswhite was in Cedar Grove, it was to see her sister’s killer put behind bars. Now she’s returned for a respite and the chance to put her life back in order for herself, her attorney husband, Dan, and their new daughter. But tragic memories soon prove impossible to escape.

Dan is drawn into representing a local merchant whose business is jeopardized by the town’s revitalization. And Tracy is urged by the local PD to put her own skills to work on a new case: the brutal murder of a police officer’s wife and local reporter who was investigating a cold-case slaying of a young woman. As Tracy’s and Dan’s cases crisscross, Tracy’s trail becomes dangerous. It’s stirring up her own haunted past and a decades-old conspiracy in Cedar Grove that has erupted in murder. Getting to the truth is all that matters. But what’s Tracy willing to risk as a killer gets closer to her and threatens everyone she loves?